top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsaiah D.

Jump Journey Pt. 3 - Plyometrics

Your time is valuable. That's why we strive to bring content that is worth every minute of the read. That being said, the lives and well-being of minority groups, especially Black individuals, are still at risk and marginalized. If you only have a few minutes, please consider instead what Dr. Darius Green has to say about the intersection of race, mental health, and personal reflection regarding change.

 

Here is what my vertical jump looks like six weeks into Flight Mode.

Some of the keys that have noticeably improved in my form include a more complete arm swing. I've been able to increase shoulder mobility, which allows me to cock my arms back quicker and swing them forward more explosively (equal and opposite reaction), getting me up higher. This could be a way to add some inches even if you feel like you've maxed out your lower body gains.

 

So now we get into everybody's favorite part of jump training: plyometric work. Plyometrics are exercises that force our muscles to exert maximum force in a brief amount of time. Increasing our vertical jump means increasing our power. I'll just leave this here for now, and we'll refer to it again. Disclaimer: I have no degree in physics, math, or anything related. Last physics class I took was a disaster over ten years ago.

Based on this formula, we can dispel a popular misconception that I bought into for the longest time. I thought I just had to be able to squat and deadlift heavier and heavier weights, which would increase the strength I could apply into the ground, which would launch me up higher.


My mistake was ignoring that t element in the equation: time. I could do more and more work, but here's the thing: lifting heavier usually means lifting slower. When I am jumping, I don't have five seconds to load up and push into the ground. I get maybe half a second to apply as much force as possible. If I cannot transfer my work into the ground in that amount of time, it doesn't matter what my max squat is, because a significant percentage of my strength isn't able to be harnessed in that amount of time.

In addition, as I complete traditional lifts, I tend to ease up toward the end of the lift. If you think of a squat, when I've gotten my legs past the ~45 degree mark, I have to work less because I have momentum continuing to move me upward back to my starting position.


These two factors tended to make traditional lifts counterproductive to my goals of being able to jump higher; lifting heavier weights made me lift slower, and I tended to ease up as I moved back towards my starting point. These both were a detriment on the time element of the power equation.

 

The fix, then? Plyometric exercises. By definition, plyometric exercises utilize total effort from a particular muscle group in a very brief period of time. This was the element that was lacking from my traditional lifting work. By using jumping exercises (box jumps, for example), I practice moving my bodyweight, or a light weight, explosively, using the same angles and muscles I would use when jumping for height.

Nobody should look this happy doing box jumps

Matt Pieczarka, who we have interviewed previously, demonstrates and teaches tons of options for beginner and advanced plyometric exercises, harnessing and mastering body weight explosively to build vertical jump. These exercises, when properly used, helped me to transfer my strength very quickly into the ground and be aggressive in my movements.


Another option available to those who may have specific equipment or gym access is to use resistance bands. Resistance bands can prime our bodies to push for max effort through the duration of a traditional lift.

I can anchor resistance bands to the floor of a lifting cage or mat in our back squat example; as I push the weight away from the floor, the bands tighten, adding resistance as I move back towards my starting position. Instead of slowing down and easing up as I move back towards start, I actually have to maintain tension and push harder against the added resistance. Same for a resistance banded deadlift.


Though this required some more specific equipment, being able to utilize resistance bands some of the time helped me to prime my body to really exert effort throughout all phases of a lift, and carry that over into my normal workout routines. When banded exercises are not possible, we can replicate a similar effect by emphasizing speeding up the lift towards the end of the rep.

 

So in practice, how does this all look? Make sure you have a strong base of mobility and stability before going all in on plyo work. This is high intensity work, and can easily lead to injury if not properly primed.


Seek guidance from a coach or trainer who has put their time and effort into studying performance; they know how to harness these tools in terms of rep and set count, programming, and specific exercises so that we can safely and effectively build power. Matt Pieczarka, as mentioned before, and Graham Tuttle are both performance coaches who freely give advice.


That was one of the things missing from my vertical jump training; I had knowledge of plyometric exercises, but I didn't know how to organize all my knowledge into practical programming that would consistently benefit me.


Some things to definitely keep in mind, however:

  • Do not use plyometric exercises as cardio - It's tempting because these can be flashy-looking moves, and you will definitely feel your heart rate skyrocket. Because of the high intensity load on your muscles, however, you risk injury and overuse on not just your muscles, but also your tendons and ligaments.

  • Go max effort on each rep - If you feel form faltering, don't "push through" to get one more rep. I've got a long scar on each shin reminding me of that, courtesy of trying to get "just one more" box jump. You gain more benefit from being able to go max effort on each rep than from half effort on more reps. Again, you risk injury each time you improperly complete a plyometric move, and you also don't gain additional benefit.

  • Recover! - Pushing your muscles past their current limits is what increases your muscular capacity in vertical jump, but you also need to recover in order to reap those benefits. Let your body rest (not just by lazing around, but by doing low-impact movement such as taking a walk, a relaxing yoga session, or by foam rolling) so that you can actually see the growth that your work fosters.

 

Here are some demos of some plyometric exercises that you can begin to incorporate into your vertical jump work. Again, consult with a coach before you start programming completely around plyometric exercises. This is a high-risk, high-reward area; work with someone with expert knowledge.



13 views0 comments
bottom of page